List of Kenya Kwanza political parties that dissolved to join UDA

UDA Secretary General Cleophas Malala. PHOTO: File

The newly-appointed United Democratic Alliance Party (UDA) Secretary General Cleophas Malala, now says a total of six parties have joined the party.

In a statement to newsrooms on Tuesday, Malala stated that the six parties allied to Kenya Kwanza Alliance will now be official members of the “UDA family” and will participate in all party activities.

The parties are led by Trade Cabinet Secretary Moses Kuria’s Chama Cha Kazi (CCK), and Chama Cha Mashinani (CCM) headed by Isaac Ruto.

Others are Umoja na Maendeleo party led by former Embu governor Martin Wambora, National Agenda Party of Kenya (Alfayo Agufana), Farmers Party (Irungu Nyakera) and Economic Freedom Party (Issack Hassan Abey).

This comes barely two weeks after Malala had asked all the parties under the Alliance to fold and join President William Ruto’s UDA.

Malala defected from Chief Cabinet Secretary Musalia Mudavadi”s ANC.

In the Tuesday statement, Malala further urged party leaders to rope in their members to take up their active role in building the party.

He also lauded them for making the “selfless decision” assuring them that they have made a noble decision.

“My brothers, you will not regret this bold decision,” he said.

The CCK Party dissolved shortly after the August 9, 2022 General elections, with Moses Kuria announcing that he had notified the Office of the Registrar of Political Parties (ORPP) of the move.

ALSO READ: Kenyans react on Malala’s message to his mother

About the Author

Antony Nyongesa
I'm an avid reader, a novelist, producer and journalist with a nose for news. Mine is to tell the truth; truth and nothing but the truth.