National Tree Planting Day: President Ruto to inaugurate Initiative at Kiu Wetland

In preparation for the National Tree Planting Day this Monday, the Ministry of Environment has disclosed the specified locations in all 47 counties where the tree-growing exercise will occur.

President William Ruto is set to inaugurate the initiative at Kiu Wetland in Makindu, Makueni County.

In a statement issued on Friday, Environment CS Soipan Tuya revealed that at the county level, Cabinet Secretaries will spearhead tree-growing activities, each overseeing efforts in at least two counties.Below is the list of designated tree-planting areas and the respective Cabinet Secretaries overseeing the initiative:

CS Tuya highlighted the availability of 150 million plantable seedlings at Kenya Forestry Research Institute (KEFRI) and Kenya Forest Services (KFS) nurseries nationwide, along with nurseries maintained by other Ministries, Departments, and Government Agencies.

“Furthermore, millions of seedlings from private nurseries operated by women and youth groups in Community Forest Associations and Community-Based Organizations are accessible for a fee,” stated CS Tuya.

Encouraging citizen participation, CS Tuya urged Kenyans to prioritize the tree-planting exercise on the public holiday, emphasizing its significance for environmental well-being.

“Despite it being a public holiday, I know many of us will use the break for private and social obligations. Yet, for the sake of our environment and as a national duty, I urge all of us to honor National Tree Planting Day,” she added.

The government’s ambitious goal for Monday is to plant a minimum of 100 million seedlings across the country, contributing to the broader target of 500 million seedlings for the short rains season.

ALSO READ:Tigania East MP Mpuru Aburi demands apology from Meru governor over controversial video

Ministry of Environment calls for unified action against climate crisis