Revealed: amount of money Uhuru CS will get

Cabinet Secretaries who served in the previous administration will pocket up to Sh20.8 million each in gratuity payment.

This comes amid questions over the integrity implications of their relatively low exit packages compared to that of the other super-earners in public service.

The payouts came after President William Ruto formed his Cabinet in a total overhaul of the Executive.

This golden parachute to ministers and Principal Secretaries is based on the fact that they are not entitled to pension, but gratuity equivalent to 31 percent of annual basic pay for every year served.

Unlike other State officers such as a Deputy President, Speakers of Parliament and a Chief Justice, CSs and PSs are not entitled to lifetime pension packages.

The Salaries and Remuneration Commission, SRC in a gazette notice, setting the pay details for the current administration said “… a State officer serving on fixed term shall serve on contract and be paid a service gratuity at the end of the term at the rate of 31 percent of annual basic pay for every year served.”

CSs Fred Matiang’i, Rachelle Omamo, Amina Mohamed, Najib Balala, Adan Mohamed and James Macharia served during President Uhuru Kenyatta’s entire administration.

They are set to walk away with Sh20.8 million each in gratuity.

ALSO READ:CS Magoha urges Ruto’s administration to deal with pornography

About the Author

Antony Nyongesa
I'm an avid reader, a novelist, producer and journalist with a nose for news. Mine is to tell the truth; truth and nothing but the truth.

Be the first to comment on "Revealed: amount of money Uhuru CS will get"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.