President Uhuru nominates 4 IEBC Commissioners

President Uhuru Kenyatta has nominated Juliana Chirera, Francis Wanderi, Irene Cherop and Justus Abonyo Nyangaya to serve as Commissioners in the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) after the positions were left vacant following resignation of four commissioners- Roselyn Akombe, Margaret Mwachanya, Paul Kurgat and former Vice-Chairperson Consolata Maina.

The Selection Panel chaired by Elizabeth Muli forwarded the names to President Uhuru Kenyatta, who later forwarded the names to Parliament.

Yesterday, the Speaker of the National Assembly Justin Muturi ordered the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee (JLAC) which is chaired by Kangema MP Muturi Kigano to vet the listed nominees and present a report to Parliament for consideration within 28 days. If the nominees are approved, they are expected to start the preparations for the 2022 General Election.

At least 36 Kenyans were interviewed in the race to find four Commissioners who will fill the vacant positions at IEBC. The short-listed applicants were first subjected to a psychometric test before the panel embarked on oral interviews that were held between July 7 and 23. However, one candidate withdrew his candidature after questions were raised over his academic credentials.

The law specifies that a member of the Commission shall be appointed for a single term of six years and shall not be eligible for re-appointment since they serve on a full-time basis.

ALSO READ: IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati & colleagues to be left jobless if BBI is passed!