MPs to conduct hearings for vetting of 4 IEBC nominees

The Parliament has invited members of the public to submit their opinions on the suitability of the four IEBC commissioners that were nominated by President Uhuru Kenyatta.

On Thursday last week, the President nominated Juliana Cherera, Francis Wanderi, Irene Masit and Justus Nyang’aya and forwarded their names to Speaker of National Assembly Justin Muturi.

The four who were among the 36 candidates that were shortlisted and interviewed by the Selection Panel will replace Roselyn Akombe, Margaret Mwachanya, Paul Kurgat, and former vice chair Consolata Maina who resigned from the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission.

The National Assembly’s Justice and Legal Affairs Committee (JLAK) has scheduled to hold approval hearings on August 24 for all the four nominees.

Through a notice today, the Committee chaired by Kagumo MP invited memoranda from the public over the nominees for appointment to electoral body.

“Pursuant to Article 118 of the Constitution and section 6(9) of the Parliamentary Appointments (Approval) Act, the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee is inviting interested members of the public to submit any representations they may have written statements with supporting evidence on the suitability or otherwise of the nominees for the appointment to the office,” the notice reads.

Submissions from the public must be sent to the Clerk of the National Assembly before Friday, 20th August 2021.

ALSO READ: The uncertainty of  IEBC as 2022 approaches