Mbadi advises Chebukati to wait for approval of 4 IEBC Commissioners

Suba South MP John Mbadi has advised the Independent Electoral Boundaries Commission (IEBC) to wait for the approval by the parliament before making the 2022 election plans.

While speaking in Nyanza during an event that the ODM leader Raila Odinga also attended, the ODM chairperson expressed confidence that Parliament will approve the four commissioners that were appointed by President criticizing those statements from IEBC chairperson Wafula Chebukati are not trusted.

“Please stop that which you are doing now until we get a full commission because we don’t trust you,” Mbadi said.

This comes as the commission continues planning for the 2022 General Election with three commissioners, Chebukati and commissioners Boya Molu and Abdi Guliye.

The President nominated Francis Wanderi, Justus Abonyo, Juliana Cherera, and Irene Cherop to be IEBC commissioners forwarding their names to Parliament for vetting and approval.

The commission was left with three commissioners following the resignation of Roselyn Akombe, Margaret Mwachanya, Paul Kurgat, and former Vice-Chair Consolata Maina in 2018.

The four will be vetted by the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee of the National Assembly which is chaired by Kangema MP Muturi Kigano and is scheduled to hold approval hearings on 24th August for all the four nominees.

ALSO READ: Ruto asks politicians to stop insulting hustlers