From IEBC to abroad as President Kenyatta makes nominations

President Uhuru Kenyatta has nominated former Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) commissioners to various ambassadorial positions.

The former IEBC commissioners are Margaret Mwachanya, Connie Nkatha and Paul Kurgat.

Head of Public Service Joseph Kinyua, in a statement issued on Thursday, announced that President Kenyatta had nominated Nkatha and Kurgat to be deputy head of missions in Moscow, Russia and Rome, Italy respectively.

The Head of State also picked Ms. Mwachanya to be Kenya’s deputy head of mission to Islamabad, Pakistan.

Also in the President’s list of nominations is Ambassador John Ten Ottawa, Ambassador Catherine Mwangi and Ms. Immaculate Wambua who have been nominated to be High Commissioners in Canberra, Otawa and Pretoria respectively.

The president also nominated BBI Joint Secretary Ambassador Martin Kimani, to be Kenya’s Permanent Representative in the United Nations, New York.

Also picked for the Deputy Head of Mission position is Mr. Joakim Kiarie Kamere (London), Maj. Gen (Rtd.) Thomas Chepkato (Mogadishu), Mr. Hudson Ivutsia (Abuja), Ms. Irene Achieng Oloo (New Delhi), Mr. Isaac Parashina (Tel Aviv) and Ms. Judy Sijine (The Hague).

Other nominees

Other nominations include Amb. Jean Kamau (Addis Ababa), Mr. Linday Kiptiness (Bangkok), Amb. Tom Amolo (Berlin), Amb. Lemarron Kaanto (Brasilia), Amb. Daniel Wambura (Bujumbura), Stella Munyi (Harare), Maj. Gen (Rtd.) Samuel Nandwa (Juba), Maj. Gen (Rtd.)  Ngewa Mukala (Khartoum), Amb. Benson Ogutu (Moscow), Amb. Tabu Irina (Tokyo), Joshua Gatimu (Tehran) and Amb. Jean Kimani (UN HABITAT).

ALSO READ: End COVID-19 testing at border posts, EABC

About the Author

Antony Nyongesa
I'm an avid reader and journalist with a nose for news. Mine is to tell the truth. Truth and nothing but the truth. Currently, I'm working as an online content creator.